top of page
Search
  • jemc1842

Project 3 (Daydream) Final Statement


Artist Statement


I think retro style art in video games is a net win for everyone. Telling stories with such minimalism and "cheapness" because you have such a limited set of frames, limited palette, limited everything, yet somehow these 40+ hour stories are told, through nothing but text and sprites.


These characters mean a great deal to me, they are me, and my friends, and as a group wed sit together and play these games, "listen" to these stories. We would build worlds based on these characters and I wanted to share that with others, so they could at least for a few seconds experience some of that cartooniness.



The escape from reality is something everyone needs to have, but more importantly how to learn to have; too often adults forget not to take a break from reality, but HOW to take a break from reality.


As kids we used to escape with such ease, now as adults, we have such difficulty letting go and embracing the parts of our lives that we used to enjoy so much of. "Childis" they say, and we accept that. Why? The world needs to embrace the parts that make us younger, maybe looking back is the best way to look forward


Showing the world that you can have fun as an adult doing the things you enjoyed as a kid makes you a better adult.


After all, What's past, is prologue


 

Instructor notes:


The music by the way is exactly 9.5 seconds long, which I thought be a funny touch, since it couldn't be 10 seconds,.


Of all the assignments and all the work, this one gave me the most issue. I frankly don't like what I have, and it's not up to the standard I accept but at this point, I'm freaked out, upset and in a state of ... acceptance on what is supposed to be the best work I do, but instead is subpar.


Sure, technical issues aside, I should have planned better for such a circumstance.


I corrupted several files and had to redo massive parts of the file. At what point does an artist say, no this isn't me; it is just a ghost of what I am capable of.


-

8 Bit art isnt new, or revolutionary. As someone who enjoys the 16/8 Bit style, I thought it would be a cool way to explore the metaphor of how I view past friendships.

-

As I started the project, I had high ambitions, as was even ahead of where the class needed me to be, and where I originally scoped work. I was impressed, I had a hiccup in the beginning, losing a drone, but as an artist, adversity should be a muse to the idea that you can overcome anything.



As I progressed, The Game of Thrones effect became fully apparent. My work was ... swallowed by the overwhelming problematic issue of, Adobe Products not doing what they are supposed to do, and I slowly realised - I'm not ahead, I'm treading water.


The moment it fails to render the first time, I start to get a sense of upwell in my stomach, I have two choices. Continue to flail or fess up to a lack of planning. I tried to think of what others would do in this situation. I had my work done, but it fails to load, fails to render.



I chose to be honest and continue with other things that need to be done.

I accept the fact that it's not what I want, and I don't have a good excuse

As an artist you have too, I think, (as well as in real life) accept that sometimes the things we do are not the way we want them and that's just how it is.


I know I did everything requested; it just is what it is. It's a hard truth and frankly it sucks, but that's what we accept when we try to do things and we don't plan according to the schedule of life.


Also, this is never something you want to see.


If given a second change the only thing I would change? Is testing sooner and less reliance on oohhh that's fine it will work - No, I will test and verify much sooner. But much like this kitty cat above, once it hits you...its too late to change course.




4 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page